Hallstatt, Austria

I almost considered not going to Hallstatt because I liked Salzburg so much and wanted more time there, but I ended up going for a day, and I’m really glad I did.

I think calling Hallstatt a sleepy town is highly cliché, but it does sound a bit better than saying that it’s a ghost town. See, it’s no longer tourist season and it’s such a small town that most people probably work in tourism and a lot of the shop owners around town take their holidays during the month of November, so it really felt ghostly…just me and the other tourists taking a day trip from Salzburg. Maybe a few locals dispersed here and there, but really, the streets were empty. It sounds utterly two-dimensional, but that’s exactly how it was by and large.

Into Uncertainty - Hallstatt, Austria

I was going to take the route that Trip Advisor suggested, saying it’s the prettiest way to go.

But due to train track construction/maintenance, it didn’t end up working out.

Into Uncertainty - Hallstatt, Austria

So, instead of taking the bus to Bad Ischl, then train to Hallstatt, then ferry across the lake (the get the best views of the lake/town), I went via bus and another bus, dropping us off right in the center of town. Unfortunately, that meant no gorgeous views from the water (the ferry wasn’t even running), but even then, the views from the bus stop were pretty spectacular!

Into Uncertainty - Hallstatt, Austria

After taking in those views for a while, I decided to walk into town, finding my way through the narrow, twisting streets to the main square.

Into Uncertainty - Hallstatt, Austria

I then walked up to the Catholic church whose main feature is actually its cemetery. Strangely enough, however, the spots are rented for a limited period of time… I really don’t know what they do once a body’s time is up.

Into Uncertainty - Hallstatt, Austria

From the courtyard of the church, there is a path to hike up to the salt mine, if you have the time. The trail passes the little waterfall and gives you a lovely view over the town and lake.

Into Uncertainty - Hallstatt, Austria

After coming back down, it was a fairly leisurely day in this tiny town. I explored the side streets, I found myself an amazing bowl of pumpkin-coconut soup and an apple strudel, and just enjoyed the views around town and of the lake.

I am truly happy that I ended up sticking to my plan and going to Hallstatt, as this UNESCO World Heritage Site lived up to its standards.

3 thoughts on “Hallstatt, Austria

Leave a comment